The Specter (Waxwood Series: Book 1)

The Specter (Waxwood Series: Book 1)

Release Date: June 13, 2019

When an odd little woman in a wheelchair shows up at the funeral of aristocratic Penelope Alderidice and begins spurting forth details about her life her granddaughter Vivian never knew, Vivian goes in search of her grandmother’s past, unearthing family secrets and scandals kept hidden for forty years.

About the Book

“To what lengths will one not go to exorcise a specter?”

On a windy afternoon in 1893, people are gathered to pay their respects to the Alderdice family, as matriarch Penelope Alderdice has just died. A strange woman in a wheelchair, claiming to have known “Grace” as a young woman in the small fishing village of Waxwood in the 1850’s. Penelope’s granddaughter Vivian had never heard of Grace and had always been led to believe her grandmother favored San Francisco and it’s Nob Hill elite so much so that she had remained there all her life.

Before her mother Larissa can silence the woman, she reveals more astounding facts about Grace — that she appeared in Waxwood for a summer by herself, that she was an artist who loved fish and could draw them down to the last gill, and that she had a lover in the artist colony in the hills across the Waxwood bay.

Her mother’s refusal to discuss Penelope’s life, insisting the woman is lying leads Vivian on a quest to discover the truth behind her grandmother’s past. The shocking details force her to confront family myths and lies buried for forty years.

To find out more about the Waxwood series, click here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."