The Claustrophobic Heart (Waxwood Series: Book 2)

The Claustrophobic Heart (Waxwood Series: Book 2)
Release Date: TBA

A young woman must cope with her aunt’s mental deterioration during a summer vacation in Waxwood, California.

About the Book

When maternal love turns into madness …

Gena’s Aunt Helen had taken care of her since her mother died when she was eight. But in the passing years, their roles have changed: Gena has become the parent taking care of her child-like aunt, accepting Helen’s peculiarities as part of her eccentric personality.

But Gena is forced to admit that Helen’s doctor may be right — there is more to her aunt’s erratic behavior, phobias, obsessions, and “premonitions” than just idiosyncrasy. The doctor advises a change of scenery and suggests Waxwood, California. Gena books them a room for the summer at the Waxwoodian Hotel.

But Gena’s summer becomes anything but an ideal vacation in a peaceful seaside town. Away from the claustrophobic world she and her aunt had built for themselves, Gena blossoms, befriending the Alderdices, a mother and daughter spending their second summer in Waxwood, while Helen’s fears and jealousies seem to increase. Combined with Waxwood’s ominous and mysterious ambiance, the depths of Helen’s mental instability come to light and Gena can no longer ignore her own self-deceptions about their relationship and their past.

To find out more about the Waxwood series, click here.

To find out more about Book 1 of the series, The Order of Actaeon, click here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."